Winter

I bring you all a short post today because I’ve been busy lately.

To begin: last winter in the area in which I live was the worst on record for years. I don’t remember how many, but I assume it wasn’t much. Maybe eight or nine. I walked to work in it during the nighttime. It frequently took around 40-50 minutes just to get from my house to where I work. I never got frostbite because I know how to dress for the winter. People seldom drove me, and when they did it was only for about half of the way.

I had to wear two pairs of socks and walk through snow drifts that were higher than my ankles, and some of them were nearly up to my knees. There was also a planning mishap one night when I had to spend a long time (it was probably less than ten minutes, but it felt much longer) trying to walk through snow that went up higher than my knees and in some places at least halfway up my thighs. I still didn’t get frostbite and I still got to work early.

I repeated this throughout all of last winter. No one expected me to be able to do it, but I did. Now I can tell you all two things.

First, as advice for the upcoming winter to those of you who don’t know how to dress for the cold, remember the following word: windshield. This is very important because if you don’t protect yourself from the wind you will find yourself very uncomfortable. It makes it feel much colder than the thermometer says it is, and this can make planning tricky if and when the wind changes suddenly and/or frequently. Buy a face mask or a scarf if you need to – just protect yourself from the wind and cover up your skin. Also, wear layers. If you can’t remove your snow clothes you might get too hot and start sweating. This can be dangerous in a cold environment.

The second thing I can tell you is that most people are underestimating themselves. Humans are stronger and more capable than we think we are. Don’t go rushing into certain death, but it’ll do you well to test yourself occasionally to find your limitations and better get to know yourself.

Look up books and videos on survival for more information. After all, I’m not an expert on winter survival – I just have experience with it.

