Notes: Wilderness Survival

I’ve got more notes from another book. No First Aid this time, but I’ve got a few wilderness survival things. It’s a combination of me summarizing, my opinions, and some quotes taken directly from the book. Again, I will cite the source at the end of the notes.

Dead-Man Tent Stakes: useful when trying to set a tent on sand, snow, or gravel. Basically you tie the tent’s guy rope to a stick, long rock, or chunk of ice and bury it about two feet deep. Smash the ground over it (the book says “tamp”, but I think “smash” would be a bit more accurate… Or I guess you could say “stomp”) and tie the rope to the tent loops.

Sharpening Axes and Knives: “When finishing the edge with the oilstone, push the stone toward the edge, not away from it, at an angle of about 20 degrees. Some people move the stone in a circular fashion.” I don’t see why a circular movement would be necessary, so I’d say to instead try a few different movements/methods and see what works best for you. The picture in the book makes it look a bit like whittling a chunk of wood and that just solidifies my opinion that you don’t have to sharpen the knife using a circular motion.

*Moose Nose: I’m not confident in the legality of killing a moose just to eat its nose so I would recommend against this course of action, but I think if the moose is dead when you find it and you’re starving it might be okay. Anyway, here’s how to cook a moose nose according to the book: coat with mud and place in a bed of hot coals. Wait several hours and remove the mud. The hair on the nose should come off with it, but you can just scrape away any that’s left over. Separate the meat from the bone, salt it, and eat it. Or, if available, you could eat something more desirable. For example:

Baking Bread and Biscuits: “Loaf bread is baked in a Dutch oven in the same way it is baked in a home oven.” If you buy some sort of “just add water” thing at the store before going camping, you can bake the bread or biscuits in the Dutch oven. The heightened desirability of this kind of food rather than the moose nose can be enjoyed because of preparedness (according to me, anyway).

Knife Sheaths: Knives can slip out of small knife sheaths and cause an accident or injury. You can instead make one out of steerhide. “It should be long enough to cover the entire blade and most of the handle.” You need a little of the handle sticking out so you can grab it and remove the knife from the sheath when you need it, but it should cover enough to help prevent it from falling or slipping out of the sheath. When you’re done preparing the leather you can lace the open side shut or use hammer-on rivets.

There’s a lot more in the book, but I just decided to take a few random points from it. Of course the book has more details than my summaries, but you can always look up anything you need more details on (either online or in the book if you have/find it). Here’s the source:

“Outdoorsman’s Handbook” by Clyde Ormond

I can’t find the ISBN on or in the book, but  I found an ASIN online: B008D8M1TY. According to the inside the author has some other interesting books as well. I haven’t read the others, but I think I can assume they’re as good as this one.

For a little more survival stuff I found more interesting things on YouTube. First is North Survival. As an example he has a video called “Long Term Survival Shelter.” CrazyRussianHacker has some survival videos too. He’s mentioned something about a zombie apocalypse, but I don’t think his reasons behind the videos matter in this case. They’re good videos.

 

*About the moose nose: It’s mostly my own private joke with myself. Whenever I randomly look through that book it always somehow ends up on the Moose Nose page and I just have to laugh about it. I thought I’d use it as an example of how it’s a bad idea to leave major decisions until the last minute. In this case the decision would be regarding food.

